A Visit to Cape Town – Part.6

Wow!!! It’s been a while….. & I must apologise to my fellow blog followers L As I mentioned, I reached my internet cap quite early last month…. :( Had to endure a few days of following blogs from work & doing a few posts from work as well!!! Not ideal, but hey….. I’m back!!! & as a “make-up” I will post me Part.6 (long overdue) & a travel lane post today!!! :) You heard right…. two posts today – – – Never before have I done this!!! :D

On this day of our holiday we decided Cape Town was a good call!!! I had a photo idea in my head that I wanted to go & try… ;) & for a bonus it would be an experience not many people have had!!! Our friend told us earlier that they announced over the radio that this year Cape Town has had more holiday-goers than ever before!!!! (Say what?)- – – This might sound awesome, but we went on holiday to get away, to relax, to NOT have traffic – – – Needless to say that we have not even entered Cape Town, when we got stuck in traffic… It took 45 minutes to get to the traffic light… Madness I tell you!!!

Gorgeous Table Mountain

Shipwreck

Couldn't have asked for a better back drop!!!

We were instantly irritated… not a good start!!!! :( We decided to instead of eating lunch at a restaurant, we would buy bread buns & toppings & go and sit on the Signal Hill look-out, eating our lunch!!! It was suuuuuuuuuuuper relaxing!!! :) We ended up sitting there for quite a while (well, long enough to listen the albums of James Blunt AND Mumford&Sons – – – without skipping a single song – – – & taking a nap & snapping a few photos!!! The views are just breath-taking!!! :D

Looking back over Signal Hill at Table Mountain - with unwanted weather creeping over it... (click for larger version)

The view from Signal Hill..... how stunning is this?? (click for larger version)

Table Mountain with Cape Town looming below...

Ok, so let me tell you about my photo idea…. I wanted to go up Table Mountain (&given the fabulous weather this seemed almost possible)… :) The last cable-car going down is somewhere between 21h00 and 21h30 in summer… So I was planning on going up & getting some sunset photos from up on Table Mountain… & when the sun has set get some night shots of all the lights…. I’ve been planning this photo for a loooooooong time…. :D

Well, you know me…. & you know Murphy… & yes, he IS a bitch!!! :D No, I did not get my shots… :( no, we were not able to up the cable cars… no…. the weather (as you can see in the photos above) started creeping in…. we waited a while… hoping/praying that it will clear…. but no!!! It was time to go head homewards… :( no need in hanging around there!!! With these last views of Cape Town & Table Mountain & end Part.6!!! :D

A view over Cape Town (unfortunately not from the top of Table Mountain) ...(click for larger version)

Snapped while driving... so, not quite right, but nevertheless - I present Greenpoint Stadium!!!

I love this photo... It's got a mountain (Table Mountain), clouds, sunburst, lens flare... Don't ask me why!!!

Stay tuned for Part.7 !!! :D **

20 thoughts on “A Visit to Cape Town – Part.6

  1. colleencahill

    Very nice post! I am really beginning to appreciate the whole blogging thing. I originally did it primarily for business but now here I am connected to someone on a totally different continent. Not only can I appreciate the photography but the life stories behind them . Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      That’s so cool to hear Colleen!!! I’m glad you are enjoying it so much!!! I am just loving “meeting” people from all over the world!!!! Appreciate the time you took to browse my blog & leave a comment!! Do check in again soon!! :) **

      Reply
  2. Leanne Cole

    Oh no, I feel for you. It is terrible when you plan a photo, have an idea of what you want in your head and it just doesn’t happen. I’m hoping that you hung around for another day and did get that shot.

    Reply
  3. SL Schildan

    Wow. Wow. Wow. And wow some more. And then I got to the last photo and the beauty exploded out of my computer. Not only did you get everything you mentioned but you got two sun flares. There is one from the sun and one on the car windshield!! :D

    Some years back as we were inching and sliding down a loose gravel “road” with switchbacks, the car sliding, looking at the tip tops of 150′ trees on the drop off side, I looked back and there was the moon shining over some jagged peaks of mountains and the moon was sitting perfectly booked ended by two huge craggy tree silhouette with a bit of red in the sky from the setting sun. I had no camera with me. :(

    Hubs said we would brave the whole terrifying thing all over again the following night. We were all set and the following afternoon big black clouds rolled in over the whole area. There was neither a sunset nor a moon in sight. We chickened out on a repeat of the trip, there were torrents of rain and a stiff wind. Photo op zero. I never go anywhere without a camera ready to shoot since. We have never had another opportunity like that. Yep, I know how you felt. ;)

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      Thank sooooooooooo much Shez!!!! You really are too kind!!! :D ** I know what it feels like to not have camera when the moment really requires to have it…. not fun…. somehow it makes you remember those times even better (why is that??)… :) **

      Reply
  4. johnstirlingphotography

    O.M.G! Beautiful photographs and scenery, Xandre! We also have an advert on the TV at the moment that shows Table Mountain and I would love to visit it!!! The mountain, and the city beneath, look stunning together! Planning and not getting photographs is a nightmare, but it is amazing how other parts of a visit can make up for it. On one of our jaunts to Switzerland, I specifically went to photograph the Matterhorn! Now this was 12th August (I even remember the date) – the middle of our summer – and having researched the area, we went up on the Gornergrat Railway to where there are fantastic views of the mountain! We saw absolutely nothing beyond about 20 feet! It was foggy, snowing heavily, cold and horrible! I was crushed! We only had the one day there and that was it missed! A couple of days later we went up to Jungfraujoch (Top of Europe) and got lots of snowy mountain photographs! It was a gorgeous day, my disappointment lifted, and I felt totally elated again! I still want to go back to the Matterhorn though! I’m not finished with that one yet! Hey, I am one of James Blunt’s biggest fans! I play and sing his songs all the time (well sometimes actually – with my guitar)! Great post, Xandre!

    Cheers

    John

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes

      Oh my… you see what I mean…. sometimes you remember those moments even more vividly – even without the photo!!! Disappointment hits deep hey!!! :) I am a James Blunt freak!!! I wish I could see more of his shows!!! I’ll travel around the world to see him (if I had the money of course!! ;) )… stunning entertainer… & his live shows are the best!!!! Let me stop here. :D :D :D **

      Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      Thank you so much!!!! Yes you may ask… :D I love to browse the photography tag… more often than not one stumbles upon a great blog there!!!! & that is how I came across yours!!!! -Tag photography- :) ** & you have a great blog!!! :D **

      Reply

Please leave a comment...

