Tower of Terror…

Last weekend we enjoyed a laid-back Sunday at the Gold Reef City Theme Park!!! We bought our groupon vouchers & had a very enjoyable day at the theme park!! :) I did understand why they had the special on though – seeing that it is winter, a lot of the rides were not open… I suppose maintenance is probably important at places like this… ;)

Well, over the next couple of days I’ll share a few of the photos I took… First off: Tower of Terror (closed due maintenance!!) :( Although I would NEVER go on such an extreme ride… – it features a 50m, 90­° drop and a positive g-force of 6.3G !!! A whole lot of craziness!!! :D

Tower of Terror!!!

If you google it, you get quite a lot of videos & links to this rollercoaster!!! Extraodinary engineering in these rides… I was amazed all day!!! :) **

10 thoughts on “Tower of Terror…

  1. photosfromtheloonybin

    Being an engineer, you were probably more fascinated with the structures than you were with going on the rides right? LOL. I absolutely love that photo. The perspective looking up like that is awesome!! Great job :).

    Reply
  2. Leanne Cole

    When I first saw the photo, I thought it was some mining equipment, a tower or something. :) Ahh but it is a ride, :) I would go on it either. Love the way you have photographed it. :)

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      It used to be a mining shaft – way back when they still mined gold here!! This whole park still has remnants of the mine – it really is quite fascinating!! If you pay extra, they take you on a tour down into one of the actual mines… :) **

      Reply
  3. Shez

    This is an awesome photo. Did you 1>remove all color except the sky, 2>is it an all metal structure with no paint, or >is it a black and white that you added the sky color? I am crazy about long, steep, roller coaster drops with mega g forces. If it were open, I would definitely go on that. I don’t like things that spin but twists, turns, upside down? YES!

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      Almost – The steel structure itself looks almost like I photographed it originally (it is a bit overexposed!)!! Yes, it is an all steel structure, but it was painted probably with special rust-resistant paint!!! I did convert the image to B/W, but only after I’ve overlayed it, which created this awesome colour sky!!! (In the original the sky is blue blue blue!!!) :D **

      Reply

Please leave a comment...

