Builders in the sky!!!

(Source: Personal Email )

Workers build a footpath around the vertiginous slopes of Shifou Mountain in China!!

Thousands of metres up the vertiginous slopes of Shifou Mountain in Hunan Province, China, a team of workers, operating with hardly any safety measures, are building a footpath.

The workers are building a plank road on the side of the mountain that, once it is finished, will stretch for 3km (9843 ft) and be China’s longest sightseeing footpath.

48-year-old Yu Ji (above) is one of the workers and he has been working on high cliffs building such plank roads for more than 10 years. He comments: “Young people don’t want this job, as it requires them to stay deep in the mountains for months or even years”

Yu Ji takes charge of the most dangerous part of the project – drilling the holes to set up pipes to support the footpath.
Building a plank road on Shifou Mountain is difficult because the cliff stands vertical at 90 degrees, without any slope or alcoves.

A finished section of the footpath.

Loving it!!🙂 – – – Hope you did too – – – **

28 thoughts on “Builders in the sky!!!

  1. Pingback: China Builders « On The Road With Jim And Mary

    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Aaaaahhhh!!!! I’ve read quite a few of your posts!!!!🙂 Thank you so much for referring back to my blog!! It really is an awesome and daring structure that the chinese accomplished & I’m soooooo glad you enjoyed it so much!!!🙂 **

      Reply
  2. David

    Stunning shots. I’m torn between wanting to walk that path and being too afraid to do so – I can’t imagine it’ll be that safe, even when finished!

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Me neither!! I should actually try looking for some pics where there are people using this walkway/vertigo inducer/nerve-racking obstacle!!!! Maybe then we’ll feel a tad more comfortable with the idea!!!😉 **

      Reply
  3. Omar Upegui R.

    Hi Xandre:

    I have been enjoying your stunning photographs of this highway hanging out in the blue. I tip my hat to the courageous people who risk their lives doing something like this for others to enjoy. Absolutely amazing! Thank you so much for sharing.

    Best Regards,

    Omar.-

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Rough day at work? « My thoughts, pics and personal opinions

  5. johnstirlingphotography

    Hi Xandre – I must have missed this blog when looking over your posts! Where did you take all these shots from? Did you actually go up there or did you use a zoom lens from a distance? I love going up mountains in cable cars with solid ground beneath my feet. That doesn’t bother me at all. However, I couldn’t do what these guys are doing without getting vertigo and falling off! At the moment I am playing my son’s X-Box 360 game (plenty of time you see) ‘Assassin’s Creed’ on a large HD flat screen telly. In the game you have to climb towers in Florence, Venice etc. just using you hands with no support! One false move and you fall off. I get vertigo at that just sitting on the sofa! I’ll bet they get paid peanuts as well! Well documented, Xandre, and if you were up there, you are one brave lady! Best wishes, John

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Hi John! My oh my…. I would never have been able to take these shots!! I am not afraid of heights… but at this unbelievable height I think that I would be come one very afraid person!!🙂 I got these photographs (along with the information) in a personal email! – – – Needless to say, I can’t say how true the story is, but I did enjoy the amazingness of the photographs (&bravery of the construction workers) & decided that is was worthwhile to share!! I am glad you enjoyed it!! Puts small things back in perspective!!!🙂 **

      Reply
  6. Pingback: This Could Be the Deadliest Job in the World | Blogoncherry

Please leave a comment...

