New Year Summer Sky 2010/2011…

When I came onto wordpress today I found two very interesting comments… I’ve been nominated (twiceπŸ˜‰ ) for a ‘Versatile Blogger Award’!!!πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ I am soooooooooooo surprised and flattered!!! – – – Thank you sooooo much!!! – – – So…. Keep a lookout for my post (which will follow super soon!!!) the keep this ‘Award’ circulating!!!πŸ™‚

For today I am staying true to my challenge and posting a photo that I haven’t edited at all – – – except for putting my watermark on it!! – – –πŸ˜€ This was taken on New Year’s eve 2010/2011 on a farm just outside of Pretoria (my hometown!!) It did rain that evening (like almost every New YearπŸ™‚ ) At least I love that!!!πŸ˜€ **

Let me know what you think!!!πŸ™‚ **

11 thoughts on “New Year Summer Sky 2010/2011…

  1. Mike10613

    I’m not sure about this one, it seems too dark especially for summer. I was nominated for the versatile blogger award too. I’m not sure how many I need before I can nominate blogs! I need more blogs to nominate so I’ll wait for a while!πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Hi Mike!! Yes, it is dark, because it was taken at 19h30 in the evening!!!πŸ˜€ Soooooo, can’t really expect it to be all that bright? (especially with the sun that had long since set!!πŸ™‚ )

      My settings were: – – – ISO200 – – – f/4.5 – – – 1/10 sec – – – 18mm – – –

      Congrats on also being nominated for Versatile Blogger Award!! That’s great!!πŸ™‚ Keep up the blogging!!! **

      Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Hi Brandy!! Thanks!!πŸ˜€ I have not been blogging that long – started my blog somewhere in June, but only truly started blogging regularly end July!! I love it!! The people are great with giving advise &tips on how to better my photography – picked up many new techniques, lingo and general knowledge!!πŸ™‚ **

      Reply
  2. unlimitedroads

    Beautiful! It’s been a tremendous joy to see all your pictures! You are a very talented photographer. Why not go professional and drop the “amateur” tag?πŸ™‚ Anyway – this photo is incredible. The light is perfect even though it is dark, doesn’t matter. You always see the pictures with so much sunlight, it’s good with a little balance as well. The proportions really give you the feeling of looking up instead of a “typical” photo with the trees straight ahead if you know what I mean.πŸ™‚ Great work!!

    Regards,

    Elizabeth – Sweden

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Wow!!! You have definitely made my day Elizabeth!!! Thank you soooooooo much for this special comment!!!πŸ˜€ Although I still have a tremendous amount to learn before I think I can be called professional – – – I am truly flattered!!! – – – and motivated now more than ever!!!! Thank you for stopping by!!!πŸ™‚ **

      Reply
  3. johnstirlingphotography

    Hi Xandre – Just found your blog via a comment you made on ‘Shutter Proof’! Like your blog and the variety of items/pics. Will be following from now on! I am a new blogger, just learning and only published 5 so far, but am finding my way! Just starting to appreciate the work of others and build links!

    Best wishes

    John

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Thank you John!! My variety of photographs are due to the fact that I have no idea what my style is yet!!! Hopefully I’ll be some or other very diverse photographer!!πŸ˜€ I am glad you like it though – So, welcome to my blog!!! I’ll be sure to visit your blog when I have time on my hands (looking at blogs at work is surely not going to impress my bossπŸ˜‰ )!!! You are going to love blogging – – – It’s a great platform for spreading you photos and building links!! Enjoy your journey & I’ll be checking in soon!!!πŸ˜€ **

      Reply
  4. pamalamarie16

    I love the darkness in this picture and the blue tones. This is very beautiful. I find in my own experience that the photos that you don’t edit or don’t need to edit are the ones that turn out most beautiful.

    love your work!

    Pamala

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      I must agree Pamala!!! A lot of times the original photo just has a special feel/look about it!!! – – – but I do love photoshop for those “less successful” photos!! Thanks for subscribing – – – I hope that you will enjoy my blog!! Also… welcome to wordpress (I must warn you… It’s Highly addictive!!πŸ˜‰ )… Will be checking in at your blog again soon!!! Good luck!!πŸ™‚ **

      Reply

Please leave a comment...

