Old Farmhouse…

Last weekend we attended a trail run & of course I tagged my camera along🙂 !!!

– – –  I just want to be clear that I did indeed NOT participate!!!😀 – – –

I happily drove along (in a car) with the event organiser – a close friend!!! One of the water points was at an old farmhouse. We stopped just long enough for me to take a shot with three brackets {-2,0,+2} – but not long enough for me to even get out of the car! With my limited zoom lens I was able to get this shot! The colour version of this was a bit dull – the winter bushveld colours are super monotonous – so I opted for the black&white!!! I’m starting to quite like the HDR technique!!!🙂 **

I’m not quite comfortable with the look, but I do not know what I could have done to improve the composition… Any suggestions??🙂 **

13 thoughts on “Old Farmhouse…

  1. chillibasket

    It is a very good picture! I think that it may be improved if you had taken it at a slight angle. I just think that the house and the hedge are captured a bit too straight on, if you get what I am trying to say. All the same, I love the branches against the sky and the interesting texture of the grass.

    Regards,
    chillibasket

    Reply
  2. Mike10613

    I like it but for a blog it would be better landscape. The whole picture doesn’t fit on my page. I would have certainly cropped the grass off. The tree silhouetted against the sky is nice though. I’ve just come back from taking photographs but for some reason I didn’t take many. The light was great too. I’m getting too fussy about my subjects!

    Reply
  3. mylesphinney

    I like all of the elements that you captured in this photo. However, it feels like you might be trying to fit too much into one shot. If you created two photos with this image–one with 75% of the grass cropped out, and another with all but a thin line of the sky cut out from the top–you would have two great photos!

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Hi there!! I had the same suggestion from another reader!!!😀 So, I will be sure to apply the different crops and post the ‘more’ favourable results here!!!! Thank you for the advise!!!🙂 **

      Reply
  4. niasunset

    Yes, I can’t see the whole picture too, on my page. B&W photography always so impressive for me. With this old farmhouse this hits twice. I loved it, Thank you, with my love, nia

    Reply
  5. twinklingmillionstars

    Hi! I would have thought this might work better if it’s split into 2 pictures. One with house and the dramatic branches/ foliages against the sky, and the other with the house and the grass.

    Reply
  6. wherearetheheros

    The grass really catches my eye and the trees are following the dark places in the sky which is really cool.
    I would like it even more if the whole thing were just a bit darker.

    It is really nice.

    Reply
  7. Leanne Cole

    I agree with many of the other comments, too much. The sky is too bright and tends to take your focus away from the rest of the image. Perhaps if you have exposed the image for the old house that may have worked better, rather than exposing it for the whole image. Maybe taking a few images and exposing one for the foreground, one for the house and then another one for the sky and trying to put the three together in photoshop.
    Another suggestion maybe to go back, if you can, and photograph it at a different time of the day so the sun is in front, or at the side, instead of behind.
    Good luck.

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Thank you for your comment Leanne!!! I never was quite comfortable with the photograph!! Hopefully one day I can return to this location and retry this photo with different light and angles!!!!🙂 **

      Reply

Please leave a comment...

