At the Boeremark!!

Every Saturday there is a market with all kinds of bits and pieces… It is called the ‘Boeremark’ and has stalls with typically veggies, meat, coffee, lots of books, plants, napkins, wire stuffies, hand-made leather belts etc. etc. We go there every once in a while (whenever we are up before 8 on a saturday) & this time I took along my camera.

I have been wanting to try street photography for a while and reckoned that this was a good place to start… Especially since I’m no good in photographing people or moving objects (mostly because of lack of practice & knowledge)!! I must admit that I felt very aware of me taking pictures – – – very self-conscious!! – – – Maybe I would feel more at ease with a longer lens?? With a maximum of 55mm I find I have to be up in peoples faces (which I do not like!!)!! I also found it a bit to crowded to have decent shots!! But nevertheless, I took a few photos and am going to share it with you now… (click on an image to enlarge)

I did get the chance to photograph a bee on lavender as well…. more difficult than I would have thought… Will share those in a few days!!!

Any advise for photographing people better?? 🙂 **

I had to put in this photo as well… just for balance and good measure… this stall with scarves was just too colourful to resist!!

19 thoughts on “At the Boeremark!!

  1. johnstirlingphotography

    Hi Xandre – As far as I am concerned, this is quality stuff! I love them! They are impersonal street shots with a personal touch to them, which is your own skill – in composition and capture. They are also super black and whites – crisp, clear and well balanced b/w tones. You’ve got me thinking about trying something similar, although I also have hang-ups about taking photos of people in the street – I have had strange looks from people who have been in some of my shots before and yes, I think a longer lens is the answer to that one! Well, done! I am very impressed! Cheers, John

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Thanks John!! I am very uncomfortable in shooting people…. & I was unaware that I have a style yet…. so it is pleasing to hear that you can see my style in these shots!! Thanks so much for the compliment!! As you can see from the shot I too had a few awkward glances… teeeheeee!!! Thanks as always John!! Looking forward to your next post!! 🙂 **

      Reply
  2. Mike10613

    Hi Xandre,

    Great shots! I like markets but would never photograph people. I would have to go around asking their permission! Someone walked into one of my shots yesterday and I was past caring because she just stood there! I usually get a little annoyed if there are too many people. I’m not great at photographing people either. I think children can be easier, they’re less self concious.

    I have some new pictures on my blog and more tomorrow.

    Reply
  3. bluebee

    In Australia, if you take photos of strangers’ children and post them on the internet in this way, you can end up in a whole lot of trouble, so sadly street photography does not always allow us the freedom to creative expression that we would like – it’s really a bit of a minefield. It’s worth checking out what professional photographers suggest re asking permission and whether they have ever had it backfire on them when they haven’t

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Oh my… thats not a situation in which you will want to land in!! But since you mentioned it…. I don’t know what the rules are here?? It might be worth it to find out before I end up in some sort of trouble!! Yikes!! Thanks for making me aware of something I had not even thought of in the least!! 🙂 **

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Busy (Lavender)Bee!!! |

  5. Matthew Kunce

    Great pictures. I love the black & white treatment you gave them. Rich, rich blacks. I am always nervous about taking candid pictures like that as well but working on not letting it stress me out.

    Reply
  6. devgogoi

    Any advise for photographing people better?? 🙂 **

    Yes, and I’ll try to keep it short 🙂 Because your self-confessions evoked my own journey.

    Firstly, kudos for pursuing your call, even when it meant going outside your normal comfort zone. Answering the initial challenge will open up the next one, and it never ends. Feeling nervous is normal. So just focus on your shoot. One day that nervousness will be a distant memory but meanwhile you’ll have tons of great photos to show for it, because you kept shooting, nervous or not 😉

    Forget about the long lens. It’s no substitute for bravery or intimacy. Try it and you’ll see for yourself. I’m basically the shy type, and absolutely hated pushing my camera into people’s faces, but up close and personal is the only way to go (even with flowers 😉 Choice of lens follows other considerations: it’s physically impossible to get close to (or far from) your subject, you’re in love with bokeh, you vision happens to fit a particular focal length, and so on.

    People are just like you! Basic courtesies don’t cost you anything; they reward you instead. Smile 🙂 Ask 🙂 Do not shoot (if subject is nervous, uncomfortable, unwilling, suspicious, hostile, etc). Your self-confidence and integrity in the pursuit of your vision itself engenders faith and goodwill towards you from strangers on the street. Seeing a great photographer in action is actually a rare privilege.

    Tripping the shutter is an act of creation, not theft. Hang out, tune in, chat with potential subjects that attract you. When a relationship blossoms in the moment, it shows in the photo. And so on.

    May your shooting bring you and your subjects happiness (and the world become a better place 🙂

    Cheers . . .

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Thank you soooooo much for the advise, kind words & … putting street (people) photography into a different perspective that I am used to!! 🙂 I will definitely keep on shooting & practising & I will try to remember everything you told me!! Thanks & Regards!! 🙂 **

      Reply
  7. nickbecknerphotography

    Well, I am by far the greatest street photographer, but hey, I try!! Hahah. Anyways, I wanted to just tell you some things that I have learned in just a year in street photography. On the matter of distance, I spent a day in NYC shooting street with simongarnier.org and he uses a 20mm lens to shoot. I do not have a DSLR, but I keep my lens set at 35mm. I feel the closer you get to the people, the more emotion you see… that probably didn’t make much sense ha… You mentioned how you aren’t completely comfortable shooting close to strangers. That’s something I think most street photographers feel at first. It takes time to be more comfortable in that kind of setting. I would recommend looking at eric kim’s street photography blog, he has very helpful articles and videos too! The next thing I would say is look for the “Decisive Moment.” Look for a shot setting itself up. May it be a person greeting someone and preparing to hug or a little kid with birds on the ground. Seeing these shots begin to build up to the highest point of interaction/emotion truely help make the shot. So in a ten second version of what I just spent a lot of typing about is this! 1) Get outside your comfort zone and get close to the people 2) Look for those decisive moments play out and capture interaction 3) Try to shoot street photography every day! 4) Stick to it!
    Here’s the sites i mentioned: http://www.simongarnier.org/ http://erickimphotography.com/blog/
    Take a look on my page too, I have street shots on there and I’ll be adding more soon!

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Wow, such an interesting response from people who have been doing street photography for a while!!! All in favour of “up close & personal” 😀 – – – which I did not expect!!! – – – but which makes sense somehow!!! Thank you so much for the advise & links!!! I’ll be sure to check them out once I can sit down and take my time!!! 🙂 **

      Reply
  8. Piia Rossi

    What a beautiful set of photos, its like the narrative is there effortlessly. This is the kind of story telling I like! I would love to see more urban stories from where you live, it must be so different to where I am.

    Reply

Please leave a comment...

