Westminster Abbey – London, UK

Travel Lane memory for the week!! Westminster Abbey!! … I have a huge regret that I have not been inside yet (& I have been in London 3 times!!😦 ) – – – I know, shame on me!!! (Queue the ‘but’….)😉 But, every time we were there, there were soooooo many people (or closed?)… we planned to go back (promise), but somehow, once we were gone, we realized that we never did!!

So this is for the next time I am in the vicinity – – – I WILL go in no matter how long the queue!!!😀 **

19 thoughts on “Westminster Abbey – London, UK

  1. SL Schildan

    Pack a lunch for the queue!! Might just be a great way to meet new folks from around the world all involved in a similar activity: Queue Waiting. Also of course triple check to make sure the batteries are charged.

    That is a beautiful photo. The angle enhances the magnificence. Well done. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  2. Mike10613

    Hi Xandra

    Good photo, you got the pattern nice and symmetrical. I tend to dislike symmetry but sometimes it works and usually on buildings. Patterns of any kind often make a photograph. I’ve been out today capturing Autumn colours. We had sunshine and blues skies and the light was continually changing.

    Reply
  3. Mark Goodwin

    I went in there many, many, years ago when I was a young-un. And as I remember it, it was awe inspiring, with an unexplainable cool and comfortable mystic feel about the place. Quite unique!

    But I was a young whippersnapper, maybe if I went in there now it would feel like a church?

    Nice pic BTW

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Oh my…. that is precious time if you’re only there for a short while!!!😦 Queues are not my idea of time well spent!!🙂 I’ll just have to follow Shez’s advice & make the most of it!! **

      Reply
  4. Matthew Kunce

    We were in London this spring and stayed just across the Thames. Every day we walked by the Abbey saying we would go in but we never did for the same reasons. Beautiful picture. The building is so inspirational on many levels.

    Reply
  5. Lori Franks

    We stood in line for 2 and a half hours to get into the Sistine Chapel. I figured….how long had we stood in lines at Disneyland? It was so worth the wait. I haven’t been to London yet, but I will wait in the line. You must next time!
    Great photo and thanks for stopping by my blog🙂

    Reply
  6. johnstirlingphotography

    Hey Xandre – With the risk of being shot down in flames, can I suggest that the answer to your queue problem is to get there early – ah! but you young ‘uns like your sleep! I remember it well – even on holiday getting up around eleven!! The first time we went to Rome, we queued at the Vatican for two and a half hours in sweltering heat, but the second time we had an Italian courier and he had us up and out to places by 8am. We didn’t have to queue anywhere for the whole two weeks! We have since done that wherever we go! Might work in London too!

    Cheers, John

    Reply
  7. Shayna

    Perfect! I love this picture! I love the architecture, the grandeur… I love the tourists and how well you captured them as a part of what was happening. Love Love LOVE this photo!

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Thank you so much Shayna!!!!🙂 It is a pretty impressive piece of architecture…. & the size is overwhelming!!! I’m super glad you like the shot!!! 🙂 **

      Reply

Please leave a comment...

