Every Cloud has a Silver Lining!!!

Hi there everyone!! I hope you had a terrific weekend!!! We were soooooo busy – – – I must apologise for the decrease in posts the last while!! It seems that for the last while I haven’t gotten quite enough time to go out & get decent shots!! It is not going to change for quite some time… Work is crazy at the moment (people pushing for the last month of work before shut-down)!!! ย I can tell you…. It’s NOT fun!!! But…

Every Cloud has a Silver Lining!!!๐Ÿ™‚In just over a month I’ll be on vacation for two weeks!!! Can’t wait!!!๐Ÿ˜€ **

On another note… He-who-thinks-he’s-boss have always had this dream to go and live abroad for a few years!! We went to the Opportunities Expo this weekend, it was companies from Australia, New Zealand & Canada promoting their companies here in South Africa. We decided to go, because we’ve been talking about Canada for a while now (rather he’s been talking about it – I’m not keen on change!!)… but he had an interview on Sunday with a company from Canada…. It’s scary and exciting!!! Although it still means nothing (sounds like this is quite a lengthy process), it seems quite real!!! – – – I mean, if we don’t do it soon, we’ll probably NEVER do it – – –

We are looking at Edmonton or Ottowa!!! Have you ever relocated? What was your experience? Ever been to Canada? Opinions?

15 thoughts on “Every Cloud has a Silver Lining!!!

  1. Mike10613

    Hi Xandra,

    Maybe you could consider joining LinkedIn, there are a lot of members in Canada. I have a photo in the finals of a photographic contest. They are going to print, frame and display it. I’m in the final 12, I get a new camera if I win! the judges liked all my photos so i have a chance. I could get an exhibition all to myself too!๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Hi Mike!! I am on linkedin & have seen in the photography groups that there are a lot of canadian members!! Congrats on your contest!! Do post your entered photos once the contest ends!!๐Ÿ™‚ **

      Reply
  2. SL Schildan

    Your photo is beautiful!

    Ohhh, a vacation!!

    Canada is lovely, cold and or wet in the winter but I base that on Western Canada, Victoria and Vancouver, British Columbia. Victoria is very quaint and feels very English. Vancouver BC is very cosmopolitan. People from every nation are there and many different languages are spoken. Edmonton may still be in the Rocky Mountain Range, it is just north of our Montana. Very cold dry winters with snow.

    If you love to ski or want to learn either of these two places you would love.

    Travel and relocate now BEFORE you have children. Once they are in school you end up stuck, all too often.

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Yes Shez…. we realize that this is a necessity!!! Starting a family & then trying/wanting to do these type of stuff seems not right somehow!!! For now, we are just going to relax and see what happens!!! Will keep you all up to date!!๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for the info on the different regions!! **

      Reply
  3. johnstirlingphotography

    Xandre – Good grief – Yes – if you are really serious and keen, it would probably be wise to do it now or you may regret it later! We tried to do it the other way round – have the kids first and then move around when they were grown up and had flown the coop, but we have now found it impossible to relocate because we don’t want to live far away from our grown up kids. If it is a real ‘itch’, get the bug out of your systems, and then settle and have family, but don’t leave the family part too late!

    John

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Hi John!! It’s more an itch for my boyfriend… I’m not keen on change!!! I love to travel, but that’s for a few days/weeks here & there!!! Relocating is something else….. but, I would do it now rather than later….. the itch must be scratched!!!๐Ÿ™‚ Luckily I’m still very young!!! lots of time for family!!!๐Ÿ˜€ **

      Reply
  4. the island traveler

    I have friends who migrated to Canada. They love it their. People are friendlier and more down to Earth. It just snows a lot! Good luck to you and your hubby. As long as you have each other you can make it anywhere. Speaking of South Africa. Two of my good friends when I started in the States were from that country. Amazing people!

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Thanks for the kind words!! I know a few people that went to Canada & did not want to return!!! I don’t think that is what will happen to us (you know…. home is home!!!)… But, this is something that my boyfriend really wants to do – – – & I think if the opportunity arises I’ll be willing to do it with him!! (obviously!!๐Ÿ™‚ ) ** LOL, South Africans are very friendly people!!!

      Reply
  5. photosfromtheloonybin

    Canada is a beautiful country and a wonderful place to live. No, it’s not perfect, but no country is, and when I compare to other countries, I feel very fortunate to live here. If you do make the move, you will not regret it!

    Reply
  6. Doug

    Great photo… I just wish the powerlines weren’t in it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I was born in Edmonton and grew up in Calgary …. and I live in Saskatoon now. I go back to Calgary and Edmonton frequently to visit friends and relatives. I personally wouldn’t recommend Edmonton myself to anyone. If given the choice between Ottawa and Edmonton I would pick Ottawa. Ottawa is very beautiful and tons of culture and history.

    Reply
    1. xandreverkes Post author

      Thanks Doug!!! I tried to remove the powerlines, but somehow the fill made it even more prominent…. in the end I decided to just leave it as is!! But I agree with you, as I also wish the lines weren’t in it!!!๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks so much for the advise!!! The fact that we have never been to Canada leaves us at a disadvantage in terms of not knowing anything about it!!! – – – I must say…. We have also been leaning more towards Ottawa – – – It looks stunning!!!๐Ÿ˜€ **

      Reply

Please leave a comment...

