Dubai, UAE – Airport Cranes

It’s Tuesday today & I haven’t posted a Travel Lane memory in AGES!!!

Well…. best I not waste any more time & make another contribution to my Travel Lane memories…😉

This is an extremely significant photo in my life (& one of my favourites because of the sentiment behind it!!!)🙂 Let me elaborate… This was on my very first trip overseas with my gorgeous mommy!!! We had a stop-over on Dubai International… At that time – 2004 – they were busy extending the already HUGE airport!!! It just so happens that our flight was leaving from that very last terminal (or close to last – can’t quite remember)… We noticed this view – – – & even then I knew this was significant – – – because have you EVER seen this many cranes on one construction site?? I certainly haven’t… & until this day me & my mom can remember how impressed I was with this!!!😀

The view of hundreds of cranes!!!

Ok, maybe I’m exaggerating a teensy-weensy bit…😉 But we did thereafter learn that that construction site on Dubai Airport holds the record for the most cranes on a single construction site – if I recall it was in the vicinity of 50 cranes🙂 – told you it’s significant!!!

Might I also add…. this was my last holiday before starting at University!! At this time I was enrolled for Biological Sciences (wanted to become a physiotherapist!!)… It would only be a year later that I would change my degree & become a civil engineer!!! Me & my mom always joke that when we saw this site we should have known that I was going to study the wrong degree!!!😀

In the end I got it right though!!!🙂 **

12 thoughts on “Dubai, UAE – Airport Cranes

  1. Distan Bach

    Hi Xandre, gee I just love this shot!!! The colour, silhouttes of the cranes, the warm haze despite the green tint. Love also how the wire(?) just comes out of the blown highlights in the front-most crane. Is this a scan or was it taken digitally? Terrific.

    Reply
  2. xandreverkes Post author

    Thank you so much Distan!! This is a digital shot – taken with an ooooooooooooooooold kodak camera (it was only 3MP camera if I remember correctly)!!! The sun was still high which made getting a decent shot quite difficult – I have done quite a bit of work on this one as well….. looking back at the photos that I took with that camera 8 years ago, I am amazed at how the quality of these little machines have improved over this short period of time!!! Thanks you so much for the super great comment!!!🙂 **

    Reply

Please leave a comment...

