Stratford-on-Avon, UK – Duck Delicacy

My second post for the night & my Travel Lane memory for the week!!!😀

In December 2005, me & a few friends did a bit of holiday work on a farm in the Stratford-on-Avon region… Yes, it was beautiful… It was super hard work… – – – Not work that I’ll be doing if it wasn’t for the fact that we were in England – – – I’ll never do it here in South Africa!!!😉

Our job was to wake up super early (in the freaken freezing cold)… catch duck & turkeys… put them in a dark room… ready to start the process of “preparing” them for christmas dinner!!!!😉

Plucking the feathers… taking out the intestines… weighing… packaging… etc. etc!!!😀 How on earth was I able to do it?? – Today I don’t know😀 – But it was fun & a beautiful place… Maybe you know the place… Lower Clopton Farm Shop??? Yes, we lived there for a few weeks… maybe you ate one of my prepared turkey’s/ducks!!!😀 **

Yup, that’s me… & a waxed duck!!!!😀

18 thoughts on “Stratford-on-Avon, UK – Duck Delicacy

  1. Mike Maynard

    Hi Xandre,

    I hope to go to Stratford this summer, not to pluck ducks and turkeys though! My grandfather came from there and a great grandfather on my mother’s side. I also want to take lots of photos and visit the theatre. I think it will be a good place, there are lots of cottages and apartments to rent there and lots to photograph with the river, canal and historic buildings. I will probably visit Warwick too. Warwick always comes up when I research my family tree and so it will be interesting to see what’s there; apart from the castle.

    Reply
  2. SL Schildan

    It’s good to know where our food comes from. Spending time with my awesome grandmother I learned everything about plucking, etc. Hubs is a hunter and from him I learned how dang heavy a dead deer is when you are pulling it out of the woods. Then when we got it to camp I learned the rest of what needs to happen. Just do not ask me to touch a dead fish. I know, they are easy to clean and it makes NO sense, but I can’t do fish. ;D

    Reply
  3. dnmontague

    I love Stratford. Great theater as well. Saw Hamlet when I visited. Thanks for sharing a little of your experience.

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes

      I agree Leah!!! I’ve never actually thought of it in that way… but it makes sense!!!🙂

      Thanks so much for the award!!! I feel honoured & humbled…. I will definitely be accepting this award!!! Thanks soooooooooooo much!!! I hope that I can keep up to you expectations of my posts… So glad that you are enjoying them thus far!!!😀 **

      Reply
      1. Impower You

        I enjoy your blog a lot. I watch the news and read about other countries, but I love to hear the voices of regular people from different places. There is so much to learn.

        You are very welcome for the award. Keep up the great writing.

        Reply
  4. johnstirlingphotography

    Ah! The things we have to do when we are students and the like! I never did this job but I did collect and empty peoples bins and rubbish on a council bin wagon during one summer break! They used to call us ‘bin men’! Now they are called ‘Refuse Collection Operatives’!😉 I also dug ditches on a golf course in another! Not sure I could have done your job though! Very brave! Now, Stratford is a beautiful town and we have visited there many times for short breaks and RSC Theatre visits! We may have visited when you were there, Xandre! On count, I have seen thirteen glorious plays there and many famous actors and actresses! Penny and I just love the theatre and have also been to many West End shows in London, others in Edinburgh, Leeds and Darlington, and smaller venues around the country! Among our favourite West End shows are Starlight Express, Cats, We will Rock You, The Forbidden Planet, Piaf and Riverdance! Gives me goosebumps thinking about them! Great post, Xandre! It is nice to hear about others lives and experiences around the world, isn’t it?

    Take care!

    John

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes

      Hi John!!! Oh my…. I love shows as well…. It is a regret that I hold that we didn’t go and see a show in the Stratford theatre!!!🙂 – Maybe someday!!😉 You really have seen a lot of shows…. I envy you!!!🙂 You definitely have a wider cultural field than us here in South Africa!!! It’s so sad to me when people don’t realise this & make the most of their situation!!🙂 **

      Reply

Please leave a comment...

