Paris, France – Societe Generale

Yaaaaaayyyy… I love to post my Travel Lane memory!!!😀 & tonight I’m returning to Paris!!! (Aaaaaahhhh…. Paris!!!😉 )…

Societe Generale – December 2004

This is one of those memories that are truly significant in my (less than frequent) travelling… I don’t know why, but I remember this moment like it was yesterday!!!🙂 Can someone please help me place this?? Is it near Galleries Lafayette?? If it is not, then maybe this moment have been mixed with another…😦 because as I recall (from 8 years ago), this is very close to Galleries Lafayette!!! Keeping my fingers crossed that I remember correctly!!!😀 **

21 thoughts on “Paris, France – Societe Generale

  1. Pingback: Paris, France – Societe Generale | Xandré Verkes | directoryofparis

  2. SL Schildan

    My few days in Paris, I do not recall this building. Of course we saw only a small part of it, including some museums, the Eiffel Tower, visits with local shops, a trip to San Michele.

    It is a beautiful photo. I love the B/W for this. Quiet old buildings set off by the bustle of modern cars and people, remind us of what was, what is, and what is to come🙂.

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      I’ve never been to San Michele!!! A dream of mine….. Hopefully soon!!! I only also saw a small part of Paris….. Thus the restlessness to return!!!!🙂

      Reply
  3. simix25

    Société Générale
    29 Boulevard Haussmann, 75009 Paris

    This should be the place as that is the round about by the Galleries Lafayette. Bu there has been so much building work going on there that I am not 100% sure but I will check today as I have to do some shopping on that street. The thing is they don’t have the big logo on the front anymore.

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      Yes yes yes!!!! I went on google maps to this address!!!! It is exactly right!!! So awesome how the memory of it is soooo clear in my head!!! Thanks a mill!!!!😀 **

      Reply
  4. johnstirlingphotography

    Well, Xandre – I know this building well and I can also tell you first of all that the building to the right of the photograph is the rear of the Paris Opera building. I was lucky enough to be there in August 2004 as a movie was being shot (we assume it was the Phantom of the Opera). The square at the front of the building had been filled up with a couple of feet of ‘soil’ and there were period coaches, horses, actors and actresses in costume, film cameras, lights and other stuff all over the place! I got some photos but not very good ones! There were just too many people around and no real vantage points! However, they might make content for another post! Anyhoo! Back to your question! The Galleries Lafayette start immediately behind where you were standing and facing in your photograph and runs along Boulevard Haussmann, which is the road in front of you, in the direction of your right arm! Hope you get that and I am ‘over the moon’ to have been able to help one of my very favourite blogging buddies!

    Cheers

    John

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      John!!! This sounds awesome!!!! Like something that only happens in movies!!!😉 How great is it that you have this memory planted so clearly…. Would love it if you did a post about it!!! Not many people have been a “part” of something like this!!!😀 **

      Reply

Please leave a comment...

