A day in Jasper – A trip to the Canadian Rockies!!

After He-who-thinks-he’s-boss (HWTHB) returned back to the hotel for our second to last evening in Edmonton, we decided to head out to Jasper for the evening!! If we left immediately (at approx. 17h30) we would be in Jasper in 3.5 hours… Soooooo, we left for Jasper immediately!!😉 Canadian Rockies, here we come!!!😀

I took a few photos along the way…

I could not believe that it was still so light so late at night – And it was cloudy!!! – – – In South Africa (even in summer) it barely stays light much after 19h00!! – – –

We arrived in Jasper and set out to find a place to sleep – as we went in the spur of the moment, we did not book any accommodation!!! – I know, daredevils…😉 But it was no problem… We drove around the town of Jasper, chose a place that looked quaint and went in!! In the end we slept in Astoria Hotel – it cost $97 for the room (no breakfast included) – this, for us seemed steep (when compared to the price of our hotel in Edmonton ito what you get…)!!!😦

As it was already late, we set out to get some foodies!! We ended up in Jasper Brewing Company… It was delicious!!! We enjoyed the multiple screen all showing highlights of the ice hockey… (I must say by the end of our trip we were quite into ice hockey – & I am NEVER into sports… it grew on us🙂 )…

My very interesting Blueberry-Vanilla beer… Yum!!!

The next morning we awoke with our first (semi) worthy view of the Rockies… it was beautiful… ice-capped and huge!!! I could get used to waking up to this view….😀

HDR of our view through our un-openable screen!!!

Breakfast at Lou Lou’s…

We thought we’d go up the cable-way… but it was not running…😦 It seems we arrived in Jasper in a quite time – the slopes was not open, the cable-way was not running, but it was still a beautiful place with a gorgeous little town!!! We could imagine that during the right season, Jasper would be a haven to hang out at!!!😀

Totem Pole…

A view of Jasper!!

We headed back to Edmonton for our last day that day… The one day we spent in Jasper was a memorable one for sure!!! …& although it was a long(ish) drive, we decided that the experience was worthwhile!!!🙂 **

19 thoughts on “A day in Jasper – A trip to the Canadian Rockies!!

  1. Shez

    Such gorgeous photos and such a great trip. If you didn’t know Edmonton makes up for the very long daylight hours in the winter when you go to work in the dark and come home in the dark. Have you heard of “Land of the Midnight Sun”? It’s just a little farther north and is real.😉

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      Thanks Shez!!! I’ve never heard of ‘Land of the midnight sun’…. I’ll have to go and read up on that – you’ve got me curious!!!😉 I do know that in Norway it is also bright and sunny by 23h00 – crazy!!!😀 **

      Reply
      1. Shez

        Land of the Midnight Sun = All those very north lands surrounding the North Pole; where a person can watch the Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights). I just Googled long and short days in Edmonton: Longest June 20, Sunrise 5:04am, Sunset 10:07pm 17h02m48s plus it’s light before and after sunset. Shortest: Dec 21 Rise 8:49am Set 5:16pm 7h27m37s of daylight. You’ll love it!!

        Reply
  2. photosfromtheloonybin

    It’s so strange to think that you have seen Jasper and I have not, although I live in Canada. I guess it has a lot to do with it being such a huge country – it’s not like Europe where you can visit multiple countries in one weekend. I’m so glad you got to have this opportunity.🙂

    Reply
  3. quietsolopursuits

    I haven’t been back to Banff or Jasper in decades. Thanks for reminding me how beautiful it is there, and for what I have been missing in not making it out there again. I spent three weeks there, and that wasn’t enough time to see everything I wanted to, you’ll have to go back there someday.

    Reply
  4. Distan Bach

    I’m so green with envy Xandré. Canada has been on my top 3 wish list for places to go for the past 10 years. One day. Til then I’ll live vicariously through your photos.

    Reply

Please leave a comment...

