South Africa’s Gautrain…

I noticed that I’ve edited these photos, but have not shared them yet… (the photos) nothing extremely special, but the Gautrain is – – – The Gautrain is revolutionary in South Africa’s infrastructure (engineering & design) – – – Although it is not near the complexity of your standard European underground, it really is a benchmark for future South African developments!!! – – –

I know I took more photos of this trip, but I just happen to stumble upon these three unshared, edited photos & thought I’ll share it with you!!!😀

I’ve only ridden it on three occasions, but I can tell you with total honesty – it transports me to my (extremely) happy place!!! It’s 30 minutes of pure bliss… It truly makes me feel as if I’m somewhere in Europe – I mean, who wouldn’t like that??😉 **

10 thoughts on “South Africa’s Gautrain…

  1. Leanne Cole

    Anything that transport you to someone else has to be great.🙂 OUr underground, well , it just takes me home, nothing special😦, perhaps I should come and ride yours? LOL 🙂

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      Teeheee, I’m sure it’s only special to me because it is not something I ride often!!! But if you do come ride ours – I’ll be sure to join you!!!😀 **

      Reply
  2. Verena Fischer

    It indeed looks very European! Did they solve the cooling problem there? In London and Berlin the underground gets very very hot and stuffy in summer, which makes it feel rather African actually😉

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      I did not realise that there were a cooling problem – All the trains are airconditioned – I don’t recall that when I rode it Nov 2011 (high summer) that it felt hot or stuffy… So I guess it works well!!!🙂 **

      Reply
  3. Shez

    Love the photos!!! Can I download one to share one with my grandson? He’s train obsessed and quite a budding photographer. He would think it very cool.

    Reply

Please leave a comment...

