Under the weather…

I’ve been feeling a little off since Monday – & yesterday was so bad, that when I looked at my computer screen, I got a huge sinus concentration right between my eyes….😦 I did not feel good!! Fortunately I got an appointment at the doctor at 09h30!! She immediately prescribed me some antibiotics and booked me off for two days…

I’m a sleeper when I’m sick… & I’m sure it makes me get better sooner!!! I’m feeling much better today, still very tired though – so after this post I’m back to bed!!!

Random post for today – I started editing a few of my older photos this morning… In the spirit of the rugby going on I am posting a little bit of spirit today…

Loftus 2012

I was so impressed by how this panorama panned out – it consists of four photos & I could not be happier with the result!!! I can’t remember who was playing against who (sports is not my ‘thing’😉 ) but there were a lot of people!!!

The next photo is nothing special – I just played with the perspective crop!! I’m going to post the result & my original photo (for comparison…) Although it is obvious that something is not right with the result – I love how it turned out!!

Result – after perspective cropping…

The original shot…

Which do you prefer??

The next shot is my first attempt at creating an HDR from one single shot!! I still have a long way to go… but I thought I’ll share my result with you!!!

HDR from one shot – 5 exposures created (-2,-1,0,1,2)

I’m thinking that I need to practise this more – could be a space saver (although it took quite a while!!!)…🙂

Ok, that is all for my random post today – I’m off to bed again!!!😉 **

26 thoughts on “Under the weather…

  1. Gerry Walden

    Importantly, get well soon and remember health is more important than work. For me the centre of the 3 football shots is the best ans will make a great stock image. It shows family involvement without identifying the people, together with reasonable field and stand detail – but watch the highlights on the field. Not sure about the HDR shot, it may not be the best subject to try on.

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      Cool, thanks Gerry!!! Yes, I was also not sure about the subject in question – but unfortunately I delete my RAW files as soon as I’ve used them, thus ended up with very few to choose this experiment from!!! I will certainly get a better “experiment” photo to work with!!!🙂 **

      Reply
      1. Gerry Walden

        Basic rule – NEVER delete your raw files, it is the same as throwing away your negatives once you have a print (obviously this does not apply if they are out of focus, camera shake etc.)

        Reply
  2. Mike10613

    Hi Xandre,

    I hope you’re better. I like the panoramic. I did a few of those but gave up on them, too much messing about! The crop is more interesting. It looks like you have added contrast and I wondered if the grass was too green. I have been doing that but the green is very green after record rainfall in April and this week soaring temperatures. It’s difficult to remember colours when you’re editing. I wear lenses that react to the sun too! We have a double Bank Holiday this weekend and so in true British tradition; it’s raining…

    Reply
  3. zelmare

    Ah, my baby…. Wish I can come and make you tea or some soup. Love the panorama, think it came out very well. I like the crop, it looks a bit like something out of a cartoon. Get well soon, Poppedol!!!! xxxxx

    Reply
  4. photosfromtheloonybin

    I really hope you feel better soon🙂. I have been feeling unwell all week myself and have decided to take today off to rest. We all need to recharge our batteries occasionally. I am really really impressed with your panorama shot. It is perfect, and you should be very proud of yourself!! As far as the perspective crop goes, I think I prefer the top one because the colours are more vivid and it gets rid of the unnecessary black regions at the top and bottom. Great job Xandre!!

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      Thanks Cindy!!! Yes, feeling MUCH better today!!! Those few days worked wonders – as you say – every one needs to recharge!!!🙂 Thanks for the feedback!!🙂 **

      Reply
  5. 2 Rivers Photos

    What did you use for HDR? Photomatix? Trying throwing the single image directly into that and see what happens, you will generally end up with better results… yours is actually fantastic so not sure if it can get better than that. The best thing is to create a jpg or tiff and then just drag that over Photomatix and let it do its thing… hope you don’t mind me sharing🙂

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      No, I used CS5 – (it is the only editing program I have at the moment!!) – I should see what photomatix cost here, everyone is raving about it and using it with some super results to share!!! (although I think I should really actually upgrade my computer!!😉 ) … Don’t mind you sharing at all – in fact I love the feedback!! Thanks very much 2rivers!!!🙂 **

      Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      Thanks Karen!!! Feeling much better today!!!🙂 Duke’s tongue is cute – it’s always out of his mouth – even when he’s sleeping!!! Soooo cute!!🙂 **

      Reply
  6. Leanne Cole

    I have never done that, taken a series of images and then put them together like that. I should try it sometime. 🙂
    One image HDR, I’ve done that, I know some people say they like the results, but I haven’t all the time. I do do one image, but I put one image into Photomatix and the apply the tone mapping. There is so much you can do. 🙂 Have fun, that’s what I reckon🙂 Hope you are feeling better.

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      You were my inspiration for trying the HDR from one image Leanne!!! Thanks!!!🙂 There probably is a gazillion ways to do it, experimenting is soooo much fun!! (if you have the time – & patience!!)🙂 **

      Reply
  7. Mark Goodwin

    Sorry to hear you are suffering Xandre, Sinusitis can be very painful. Looking on the bright side if you lived where I live in Wales, when you rang the Doctor’s surgery to make your appointment, you would have hung on for 10 minutes listening to the phone ring, and when you finally got through you could have made an appointment for sometime in the next two weeks!
    I live in what is still called a village, but is really a very small town I guess. However, the doctors surgery is the second biggest in the whole of Wales!!! With over 25,000 patients.
    If you wanna be ill where I live, best you move to somewhere else!
    Get well soon.

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      Oh my word – that sounds like a very difficult position to be in!!!🙂 Yikes!! I’m not one for making appointments – so I would suffer there!!! & with my sinuses being all over the place, I am now quite glad I am where I am – sounds like it could be waaaaaaaaaay worse!!!😉 **

      Reply
  8. Jo

    Trust you’re much better today. I’m sooo impressed that you work on your photos. It’s all I can do to shoot a few things and post them. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

    Reply
    1. Xandré Verkes Post author

      Thanks Jo!! Yes, much better today!!!🙂 I’m super impressed how you are able to post every day!!! These days I only get round to it 2-3 times per week!!!🙂 **

      Reply
  9. Judy

    Hope you continue to feel better, Xandre. Sinus infections are no fun. ;( Your shots of the rugby game are great! I love the cropped shot. It’s much more interesting to the eye and the “fog” from the lights is gone…. I have no idea how to do HDR, so I’m very impressed with what you’ve done! I love your doggie in any photo you have!

    Reply

Please leave a comment...

